Zinnia

Home Forums Gardening All About Seeds Zinnia

This topic contains 9 replies, has 8 voices, and was last updated by Dundrumgal Dundrumgal 6 months, 1 week ago.

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    wilderness_NY_Z4
    wilderness_NY_Z4
    Participant

When do you pinch back you zinnia seedlings?

photo signature_3.gif

Community Team Member wildernessny@gmail.com

#5110662 Report Abuse
    luvmyb_b
    luvmyb_b
    Participant

This post implies that it should be done, huh, Bette?  I have never done that before.  Maybe that is what I did wrong when I tried to start them indoors before.   I’ll be watching this to see the answers.  ;)

photo signature_3.gif
    NW Ohio
    Zn5

#5110663 Report Abuse

hopscotch
    Participant

I’ve never pinched zinnias.  They just seem to branch out all by themselves.

#5110684 Report Abuse
    plantdoctorzn4
    plantdoctorzn4
    Participant

I have never pinched mine either and they seem to bush out.  I have learned that with the Magellan variety that if you pick up the 1st bud the rest of the blooms will be bigger and also encourages more blooms.  (I usually wait until right before it opens and put it in a vase)

Bette, it seems I am flunking out of seed starting….I’ve had to say no to both of your threads today….lol.  Charlene

photo 100_1493.jpg

#5110785 Report Abuse
    wilderness_NY_Z4
    wilderness_NY_Z4
    Participant

Thanks OK Charlene.  We will give an other chance if you are a good girl.  I guess pinching the first bud out was what I was thinking of that I had read before.  The zinnias that are doing good are doing really good but others just seem to keel over.

photo signature_3.gif

#5110903 Report Abuse
    Stelios
    Stelios
    Participant