Photos of wildflowers….ID please?

Home Forums Gardening Garden Chat Photos of wildflowers….ID please?

This topic contains 15 replies, has 10 voices, and was last updated by MDgreenery MDgreenery 1 month ago.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 16 total)
  • Author
    Stelios
    Stelios
    Participant

I took many photos of wildflowers yesterday on a nature walk.  Some are considered weeds in our flower beds….lol   Thought you might like to see the variety of wildflowers that grow in our area.

Here is a little frog.  I’ve never ever seen that color in our country.  I’ve seen them in the tropics on tv.

This one looks like from the prehistoric age…lol

Stella
    Community Team Member

#5273343 Report Abuse
    plantdoctorzn4
    plantdoctorzn4
    Participant

Stella….they are all pretty….and all of my toads look like that this year.  It hasn’t been warm enough for them to take off their winter jackets yet….lol

I am not good with wildflowers, but Melissa knows them all!  It is her passion.  I am sure she will be able to identify some for you if she sees this.  Charlene

photo 100_1493.jpg

#5273346 Report Abuse
    MDgreenery
    MDgreenery
    Participant

They all look green &/or happy to be in the green. The first plant looks like a Gentiana (they are a really pretty blue).  The 12 one down looks like it could be a Sweet Joe Pye Weed (I’m not sure~there are several varieties of JPW but one of them requires full sun)? Your walk looks nice & shady.

#5273358 Report Abuse
    CatsBirds
    CatsBirds
    Participant

Beautiful, sometimes weeds are prettier and can keep up with the best of the ones we plant…. love all the pics…the 8th one down has Creeping Charlie in the photo.. we have that here and it is a pain…

Sharon, Catsbirds, Community Team Member
    Image and video hosting by TinyPic

#5273411 Report Abuse
    carross
    carross
    Participant

The only one I know is joe pye weed.  Nice pictures.

Carol

#5273418 Report Abuse
    Gayle
    Gayle