Only one pair so far this year.

Home Forums Birding Hummingbirds Only one pair so far this year.

This topic contains 6 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  Gismapper 3 months ago.

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author

Hiker07_IL_5
    Participant

I have one female and one male who visit every day, very rarely I have one that looks like she may be a youngster. Guess everyone is complaining about the lack of hummingbirds this year according to the conservation guy who writes a column in our paper, he says it may be because so many more people put out feeders now. I now our Big R farm store sold completely out of feeders this year and I’ve never seen that happen before and they had quite a selection.

#5153469 Report Abuse

Gismapper
    Participant

This is my first year feeding hummers, so maybe I’m part of the problem!  Haha!

I will say this though, I have only had one male ruby throat at my feeders consistently.   Once in a while I’ll see another male, but never both at the same time.  Each one seems to have his own preferred feeder and they go straight for their favorite.  One bird seems significantly smaller than the other (and I’ll be honest….at times I wonder if it’s really not the same bird with feathers either puffed up or laying flat).

So I’m trying to figure out if it’s common to only have one or two visitors the first year of feeding or if I’m experiencing the same low population as others are.  I’m rather disappointed that I haven’t had any females come along, and I’m pretty sure I would have seen juveniles by now if they were going to be showing up at all.  But I have to keep reminding myself that I’m already two birds ahead of last year’s count.

I’m in southeastern PA, so it’s not like I’m on the fringe of their territory or anything. Does it take a while to build up a regular clientele?

• This reply was modified 3 months, 1 week ago by  Gismapper.
    • This reply was modified 3 months, 1 week ago by  Gismapper.