Ask an Expert: Butterflies

Home Forums Gardening Bugs and Butterflies Ask an Expert: Butterflies

Tagged: 

This topic contains 65 replies, has 13 voices, and was last updated by SandraRW SandraRW 2 weeks, 2 days ago.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 66 total)
  • Author
    Jill Staake
    Jill Staake
    Keymaster

In addition to working here at Birds & Blooms, I’m also a bona fide “butterfly lady” at the Museum of Science & Industry in Tampa, FL (I also go by “Lepidopterist”). I help to maintain outdoor butterfly gardens and a free-flight exhibit so guests can experience butterflies up close. We raise almost all of our own butterflies from eggs or caterpillars, so I have a LOT of hands-on experience with these beautiful bugs. I’d like to offer my expertise to anyone who has a question or needs help with their own butterfly garden. Just post your question here, and I’ll get back to you ASAP!

Jill Staake (florida33girl@gmail.com)
    Birds & Blooms Community Manager
    Tampa, Florida Zone 9b

#5131654 Report Abuse
    Stelios
    Stelios
    Participant

Thank you Jill for the offer.  I am sure you know your butterfly stuff.  I only have one question…..or should I say request…..please send some Monarchs my way.   I’ve been building a special maternity ward with restaurant facilities for these beauties.  Did not have one Monarch stop over last year.  So if you can just use your magic wand, send them here…..!!!

Stella
    Community Team Member

#5132277 Report Abuse
    heatherincolor
    heatherincolor
    Participant

ooohhh, i have a question! i just saw a butterfly house for the first time last week- i had no idea there was such a thing. should i get one and if so, where should i put it?

Find more about Weather in Durham, NC

#5132328 Report Abuse
    Jill Staake
    Jill Staake
    Keymaster